Recreational marijuana will soon be legal in Virginia, here’s what you need to know
Written by Redacción Mota Radio on 28 June, 2021
As already announced a few months ago, as of July 1 of this year anyone over 21 years of age will be able to possess and grow small amounts of recreational marijuana in the state of Virginia.
If you are still not very clear about the marijuana legalization law that will take effect next month, here we will review some aspects that this new legislation contemplates.
1- Can marijuana be smoked in public?
No, so far it will remain illegal to consume cannabis in public places. Therefore, you will have to enjoy your pot in private, that is, at home.
Consuming in a vehicle or driving under the influence of the plant will also remain prohibited.
2- How much cannabis can you have?
According to the established legislature, persons over the age of 21 will be allowed to possess no more than one ounce of marijuana. If you possess more than one pound of cannabis, you could be punished with up to 10 years in prison.
3- How many marijuana plants may be grown?
Adults may grow up to four plants at home for personal use. Also, the flowers must be kept away from public view and out of the reach of minors under 21 years of age, also, the plants must be labeled with “identifying information”.
4- When will sales start?
When it comes to buying marijuana, so far the market will take some time to start working, as it is expected that sales will start on January 1, 2024.
5- What does the law establish about sharing marijuana?
The legislation establishes that it will be legal to give up to one ounce of marijuana to another adult. However, it stipulates that adults may not give away marijuana in conjunction with the sale of goods or services.